Yolandi Vi$$er VS. Nicki Minaj

by

It’s 2010. Rap times are tough. Skill is at the highest level. Styles have gone bonkers. Competition is everywhere.

So here’s a new entry in what I hope becomes a series. In no way are we creating or perpetuating beefs. This is simply a showcase of lyrics versus lyrics. And ideally, this will help generate a discussion amongst fans for the love of the art of rap music.

So my man Lithium and I have this mutual respect for these two up and coming MCs that are just destroying the scene right now. On one end, we have the underground blowing up the internet. On the other, we have mainstream music at its most excessive. Both are outrageous and, as a result, successful in their own way. The following verses were chosen for being representative of their style and personality and, therefore, great points of comparison.

Ladies and gentlemen,
Yolandi Vi$$er VS. Nicki Minaj
visser

Yolandi Visser.
Age unknown.
From South Africa.
Runs with Die Antwoord.
Wat Pomp Verse:

Fresh futuristic
Me I’m a misfit, drink my Five Roses tea with a biscuit
I’m shweet and I’m twisted, like a koeksister [koeksister is a braided/twisted donut]
I’m rustig ekse, o, we go ballistic, you can’t f**k with this sh*t
It’s dark and its different, pay attention or be like how can I missed it
Yu, maar sys giftig – Oo jussie is dit? [Sheesh but she’s poisonous – ooh, jeez is it?]
Staan terug boetie, cause I spoeg when I spit shit. [Stand back brother]
I’m misfit, my numbers unlisted
Yo f**k the system, I own my own system.
Poes, I wont listen, my tricky dicky lietjie blows systems [poes means cunt, lietjie means song]
You can hear me coming from the distance.
Mense versigtig, I get up to mischief [People be careful]
Jou fokken mif dik lip op ‘n tik klip [Your f**king rotten thick lip on a meth rock]
My style is poison, its a freak pak of gom [pack of gum]
Giftige cherrie up on page three van Die Son. [Poisonous chick on page three of The Sun]

Nicki Minaj.
Age 25.
From Trinidad.
Runs with Young Money.
Roman’s Revenge Verse:

I am not Jasmine, I’m Aladdin
So far ahead, these bums is laggin’
See me in that new thing, bums is gaggin’
I’m startin’ to feel like a dungeon dragon
Raah, raah, like a dungeon dragon
I’m startin’ to feel like a dungeon dragon
Look at my show footage, how these girls be spazzin’
So fuck I look like gettin’ back to a has-been?
Yeah, I said it, has-been
Hang it up, flatscreen
(Haha) Plasma
Hey Nicki, hey Nicki, asthma
I got the pumps, it ain’t got medicine
I got bars, sentencin’
I’m a bad bitch, I’m a cunt
And I’ll kick that hoe, punt
Forced trauma, blunt
You play the back, bitch, I’m in the front
You need a job, this ain’t cuttin’ it
Nicki Minaj is who you ain’t fuckin’ with
You li’l brag a lot, I beat you with a pad-a-lock
I am a movie, camera block
You outta work, I know it’s tough
But enough is enough

So?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Yolandi Vi$$er VS. Nicki Minaj”

  1. dfunkt Says:

    specifically, yo-landi smashes nikki minaj. more generally, die antwoord smashes all the mediocre, consumeristically-obsessed, weak-ass rappers that have proliferated since the end of the 90’s.

    (also, their entire discography is sick. constructus, max normal, maxnormal.tv, fucknrad, fantastic kill, memoirs of a clone, and on and on…all fucking _class_.)

  2. bizoid Says:

    no doubt, D!

    minaj has got some crazy bars and punchlines tho, but thats whats expected in american rap right now. goin thru her live vids tho, and she’s either off or on with the performance…her crazy face is starting to fuck wit me too.

    i think visser’s edging her out. collabo?

    thx for commenting!

  3. dfunkt Says:

    yo bizoid…i think you are right about that’s what is expected these days in rap. i guess that’s why i haven’t even really listened to anything new since like 2002 or so. its all materialistic posing, shitty rhymes, and pointlessness. die antwoord is new, and fresh, and they’ve got the real spark of talent and something to say. other than the old shit, like biggie, and epmd, and slick rick, they are all i listen to these days. let the young kids have nikki minaj, i am a yo-landi man… i certainly hope they don’t do any collaborations with weak rappers, as the old saying about laying down with dogs comes to mind. peace!

    • bizoid Says:

      yup, its defly who’s the best at fronting or who has the most ‘believable’ swagger. you’re right about die antwoord tho, its that spark, that natural talent, that makes them so enjoyable. i think they’re in a position to do very well with a new album thats done their way and not watered down for the public.

      funny you should mention uncle ricky. been bumping him heavy lately, and he still makes stop and say ‘my gawd!’

      pce to rockville, mang!

      • dfunkt Says:

        yes, the cherryrtree-released $o$ is much less compelling than the self-released $o$ album, with only the fucking-you-in-the-face version of “evil boy” up to the former album’s standards, in my opinion. i thought “she makes me a killer” and “in your face” were just too processed and disjunctive…like some non-die antwoord production was going on.

        yeah, you can never go wrong with rick the ruler, dude was a giant and i still think “hey young world” and “children’s story” are 2 of the greatest tracks of all time.

        rockville metro area sending peace out to eastvan (i am assuming that is east vancouver, the beautiful jewel of the canadian west?)!

  4. julesandrebrown Says:

    Nikki FTW
    Plus Trinidad FTW.

  5. Bizoid Says:

    @dfunkt you assume correctly!

  6. Kid Lithium Says:

    Okay. Yolandi is my girl but if you gonna tell me Nicki ain’t got bars then you haven’t been listening to her. Yolandi wins for having that next level style and for having a filthy potty mouth but nicki is still a monster. She has killer dynamic range and she can sing too. That’s my two cents.

    • dfunkt Says:

      again, i haven’t really heard any of nikki’s stuff, so i checked out a couple songs on youtube: “massive attack” and “your love”. i can only say it ain’t my thing… she certainly sounds highly-produced (lots of autotuning shit in “your love”) for being touted as a good singer. contrast that with yo-landi, who i don’t think i have ever heard autotuned, and who always goes fully-live on stage. the only autotuning die antwoord uses is for freaky-robot sex shit, and their actual singing is all-natural. also, nikki’s lyrics seem pretty weak. i started to write some lines from “your love” (“he’s the type of man to keep a couple hundred grand in a rubberband …”), but the shit didn’t make sense, so i thought i had em wrong, so i looked em up (http://www.lyricsmania.com/your_love_lyrics_nicki_minaj.html) and when i found out what they *really* were, i still didn’t get it. ultimately, to my ears, her stuff definitely doesn’t sound important, or interesting, or at all relevant to my interests. however, i certainly wouldn’t hold my tastes up as anything other than my own, fully-understanding of my own personal rap preferences and idiosyncrasies. peace…

    • dfunkt Says:

      ok, that shit was nice. biggie-like flow, clever lyrics, interesting twist at the end, and she was looking much realer (i hate all that fashion shit). tight video too. would definitely listen to again and be happy to do so.

      my only question, why did she change her style so much? (although that is a bit of an ironic question, considering my love for die antwoord, who have changed styles even more dramatically…)

  7. bizoid Says:

    @jules @lith,
    minaj fer sure is a beast and in this ‘verse for verse’ comp, its still a pretty close call. but if we moving to overall, then minaj has slipped quite a bit as i finally listened to pink friday and it defly left me meh. i was expecting each track to be of ‘monster’ quality…they were not.

Leave a Reply

